Books to look out for in 2015

My 2015 Reading ListWith 2014’s top reads out of the way, it’s already time to start looking forward to new books coming out this year. And so far it’s shaping up to be a pretty exciting year! I’ve already got a growing list of new releases to look forward to this year from my favourite authors and others whose work I’ve not come across but looks pretty interesting.

January

The Darkest Part of the Forest by Holly Black

The Darkest Part of the Forest - Holly Black

Released: 13th January 2015

Find it at: Hachette

I’m ambivalent about Holly Black. On the one hand, I quite liked White Cat. But my daughter brought home a Spiderwick Chronicles book for reading homework a few weeks ago and I could barely stand to read it with her. Nevertheless, I do love a good fairytale retelling, and the echoes of Snow White in this one are strong enough that I want to see what she does with this one.

 


 

February

Trigger Warning by Neil Gaiman

Trigger Warning - Neil GaimanReleased: 3rd February 2015

Find it at: Harper Collins

Possibly the book I’m most looking forward to this year (yes, I am a Gaiman fangirl!) Although I love his full length novels, I always find Neil’s short story collections the most interesting to read because I love the way he plays with different styles and formats. Plus, I hear we get to revisit the American Gods universe in one of the tales in here. What’s not to love?

 

 

 

 

March

 

 

 

The Buried Giant by Kazuo Ishiguro

The Buried Giant - Kazuo IshiguroReleased on: 5th March 2015

Find it at: Faber & Faber

I’m a massive sucker for Dark Ages historical fantasy – anything with King Arthur, druids and Celts, as well as being interested in the history of that period in general. But most fiction I see set in this era tends to be quite Romantic so I’m really looking forward to seeing how Ishiguro treats it. Like many people my age, I read Remains of the Day in school, and I’m already imagining how that starched, minimalist style and dialogue will work in this setting. Also: isn’t the cover fabulous?

 

There’s also a book trailer video for this one:

 

Medicine for the Dead by Tex Thompson

Medicine for the Dead by Tex ThompsonReleased on: 31st March 2015

Find it at: Solaris

This is the second part of Tex Thompson’s Children of the Drought series. I read the first part last summer and my initial confusion about what to make of it sparked one of the most interesting discussions I’ve ever had with an author. It really made me question my reading assumptions and ask whether I should be pushing my boundaries more. Now I’ve had a chance to get to grips with the world of the first novel, I’m eager to see what will happen next!

 

 

May

 

 

 

 

End of Days by Susan Ee

Susan EeReleased on: 21st May 2015

Find it at: Hodder & Stoughton

The Penryn and the End of Days saga has been a bit of a guilty pleasure of mine. It’s so unashamedly teentastic, yet it also has a very stark side that reaches past dystopia and into horror in my opinion. It’s the subplots that grab my interest here and what I’m most looking forward to in the final part: what happens to Paige and what further part will Penryn’s crazy mum play in all this?

 

September

 

 

 

 

Two Years, Eight Months and 28 Nights by Salman Rushdie

Salman Rushdie Released on: 15th September 2015

Find it at: Random House

When I was 11 or 12, my stepdad gave me a copy of Haroun and the Sea of Stories. Although I read it, I’m sorry to say that I probably didn’t give it the consideration it probably deserved. At that time I was very into pulp fantasies, simple stories with a straightforward plot of good vs evil. I wasn’t ready for more complex stories. So I thought I might start afresh with this new book. The write-up mentions fairytales, storytelling and mythology which are all buzzwords guaranteed to grab my interest. Let’s see if this is the year I can crack Rushdie!

 

Which books are you most looking forward to this year? I’ve got 55 books in my Goodreads Reading Challenge this year, so I’d love some more recommendations.

goodreads progress bar 25 jan

I love all things fantasy, from fiction to films to games. Mostly books though. I also love cooking and plus size fashion. Find recommendations for great fantasy reads and general fangirling here! If you want to get in touch with me, the quickest way is by Twitter @dorristheloris

Tagged with: , , , , , , , , ,
Posted in fantasy fiction
One comment on “Books to look out for in 2015
  1. Tex Thompson says:

    Hey, Dorris – thanks so much for keeping me on your radar (I can see I’m in illustrious company!) Definitely let me know if you’d like me to hook you up with an ARC – I really appreciate the vote of confidence and would be glad to facilitate the read!

What's on your mind?

